lilly in the rose garden

Friday of Metrocon- convention report

Posted on: June 15, 2012

(today’s Homestuck meetup. Also posted on the metrocon cantown tumblr)

Today I attended Metrocon 2012! This is my third year going to Metrocon, and I really do recognize a lot of the usual congoers at this point. Today was no exception, but this year’s batch of popular cosplays surprised me.

In past years, Death Note has reigned as the main casual costume, but this year I saw many more Kingdom Hearts cosplays. Hetalia became more present than in past months, and ATLA and LOK jumped on the scene as well. Quite obviously, the costumes I saw the most of were Homestuck, but I ran into quite a few Shions as well! My personal favorite cosplays of the day included Lettuce from Tokyo Mew Mew (http://butts-isnt-an-emotion-asshat.tumblr.com/) and Rufio.

(Me in costume, right before driving to the convention center)

I went to a panel on Para Para dancing. We ended up learning how to dance to “Love and Joy.” (spoiler: it’s hard) I stayed at the con all day and raked in sweet loot like a KERA magazine, an f(x) coffee mug, an alpaca key chain, and a lolita skirt from Princess Pearl Designs! I fell in love with the skirt the minute I saw it on their etsy. The waistband was too big, however, so I’ll pick it up tomorrow after they custom alter it for me.

Overall, it was a great day. My highlight was buying more Sea salt icecream lollipops (what a mouthful). They sold out so quickly last year!

The vendors had a great selection, and I can’t wait to check out a Vocaloid cosplay performance at 10 tomorrow. I hope people like my Matryoshka costume, because I want to retire it after this weekend.

I  just wish everything regarding the meetup and the Cantown project run smoothly! Eeeks!

2 Responses to "Friday of Metrocon- convention report"

Umph, your Sion cosplay looks familiar – and positively adorable – any chance you were attacked by another Sion with a camera? Lolz.

I saw three other Shions that day- I asked for pictures with/of all of them. So, I might have been!

Thank you! This costume is my favorite cosplay so far <3

Speak your mind (or let the compliments flow. up2u ;3)

matryoshkaRose~ (the former lillymelody)
cosplay, street fashion, reviews and more!
When in doubt, come into the rose garden ( ・ω・)ノ

2013 Convention Schedule!
Metrocon (Panel Friday @ 3pm in room 18)
Tampa Bay Comic Con
Shadocon (probs will have a panel)

Ways to contact me

Here!
Line Play (matryoshkarose)
livejournal (matryoshkalilly)
Tumblr (matryoshkaRose OR rosciia OR moderngal OR newleafshibuya)

Hair growth progress- As of April 2014- I regularly trim my own bangs and they look amazing- choppy and short. Tendrils are long enough to incorporate into general hair. Hair is just about at hips, but with major major fairy tail ends. Mother threatens daily to cut it in my sleep.

Groups

Archives

Yo! Get on the email list for notifications 'n stuff.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

