lilly in the rose garden

Troll Horn tutorial- Karkat

Posted on: October 10, 2011

Warning! Images!

Overall, smaller horns like Karkat’s are very simple to make and don’t require much skill. For anything larger, however, alternate methods must be used. Model magic is too heavy to use for horns any larger than Karkat or Sollux’s smaller horns.

I started with Crayola Model Magic. Using a plethora of reference pictures, I modeled the clay into Karkat’s nubby horns. (I made an extra set in case I messed up)

After shaping them, I set them out to dry for one full day. Make sure to not let the horns get stuck to the drying surface, and periodically rolls them onto a new side. (alternating between on the side and setting them down on the flat bottom.) The goal is to make crack-free smooth, rounded horns.

Once they have hardened enough, it’s time to paint! The acrylic paints I used were Craft Smart Bright Yellow 23672, and JoAnn Craft Essentials 7979693 and 5019526. (For the shade of yellow-orange in the middle, I mixed all three paints together)

I started by painting the whole horn yellow (23672)

Once that layer dried, I used the paint mixture for the middle.

Finally, I painted the darker orange (5019526) on the bottom.

Some people prefer to meticulously paint until the layers are even and neat, while others leave the lines messier. Both styles can be supported by the original webcomic, so either way works.

Depending on the materials used for the horns, and the final looks desired, several different methods can be used to attach the finished horns. The headband method (that is, attaching them to a headband the blends with the wig or hair color) is quite common, but for more elaborate designs, ssometimes cosplayers with attach them to their wigs, tie them to shoelaces or other fabric that is attached to the wig, or using alternate ways to support heavy and unwieldly horns.

I decided to attach my horns to a headband I purchased at Claire’s, using a low-temperature hot glue gun. They stayed on well while I wore the headband, but one horn fell off during the car ride home. Storing your horns safely is very important, so make sure to place them somewhere were they are cushioned or unlikely to be knocked around.

8 Responses to "Troll Horn tutorial- Karkat"

oh my gog thank you for m8king this tutorial. i promised on of my friend i would m8ke their nu88y horns 8ut the one on DeviantArt really didn’t help. i just finished them and they look gr8! thank you so much

ii love kar and hii2 horn2 ;)and thank2 for helpiing me to make hii2 horn2 now ii can show hiim how good ii can make hii2 horn2;)

can you make a viido?

At the moment, I’m actually working on a comprehensive Vriska horn tutorial, so I’m sad to say that any cosplay info regarding Karkat is on hold.

So it only takes about a day to dry?

Can the same method be used to make some of the larger horns? Like Gamzee’s or Tavros’?

No, unfortunately. Since I was making smaller horns, I didn’t have to worry about supporting their weight. For larger horns, you need something strong underneath the clay, like wire, to provide the support needed to keep the shape. For information on making larger horns, I suggust checking out http://sweetartsandhellacrafts.tumblr.com/ or http://homestuckcosplayhelp.tumblr.com/ :)

Speak your mind (or let the compliments flow. up2u ;3)

matryoshkaRose~ (the former lillymelody)
cosplay, street fashion, reviews and more!
When in doubt, come into the rose garden ( ・ω・)ノ

2013 Convention Schedule!
Metrocon (Panel Friday @ 3pm in room 18)
Tampa Bay Comic Con
Shadocon (probs will have a panel)

Ways to contact me

Here!
Line Play (matryoshkarose)
livejournal (matryoshkalilly)
Tumblr (matryoshkaRose OR rosciia OR moderngal OR newleafshibuya)

Hair growth progress- As of April 2014- I regularly trim my own bangs and they look amazing- choppy and short. Tendrils are long enough to incorporate into general hair. Hair is just about at hips, but with major major fairy tail ends. Mother threatens daily to cut it in my sleep.

Groups

Archives

Yo! Get on the email list for notifications 'n stuff.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

