lilly in the rose garden

Shadocon Report

Posted on: November 13, 2011

I attended Shadocon for about three or so hours on Saturday, leaving after the big Homestuck photoshoot. I have to say, attendance was way up from last year, but that raised new issues for the venue. There was more people there than the hotel lobby could hold, so most of us hung outside, around the pool. (Last year, I don’t think that many people went outside)

Also, there was a lack of activities and panels. Two scheduled guests cancelled, the vendor room only had 16 vendors, and artist alley barely had 10 artists. Next year, I probably won’t even bother buying a con pass, and just take photos by the pool instead. The sheer mass of con goers overwhelmed the con staff, and I sincerely hope they move to a bigger hotel or work their way up to a convention center in future years. (Whoops, comic con was the same weekend, took up only local convention center. From what I heard, Shadocon was bigger, though)

Once I settled in and met up with some friends, I started enjoying the con more. We found a huge, EMPTY field behind the hotel, and spend a lot of time out there, avoiding the crowds. At 4:13 pm, I returned to the pool area for the Homestuck meetup.

Gosh! That part was so amazing. It was much more organized than any official part of the con, and I was thrilled to be able to jump into some pictures. We posed for just about every pairing ever mentioned in the fandom. I (Matryoshka Karkat) stood out a lot in the group shots since I was not in a canon outfit, but I received a lot of compliments. :) In total, there were only 3 Matryoshkastuck cosplayers (Me, Bro, and Cal).

I got to talk to my friend, who was dressed as Terezi. (She did a fantastic job on the makeup! She also used gray gloves instead of armsocks, and with yellow fake nails placed just right, they looked pretty realistic) I also got to meet a wonderful Dog-Tier cosplayer named Emily who was coerced into the position of leader of the local Can Town Project! I left before I could find out if we’d still take pictures with the cans, though. I hope next con we can collect waaaaay more cans.

Overall, I think that the amount of organization and thought put into fandom meetups is astounding. I enjoyed the convention very much, and I can’t wait for Holiday Matsuri, if I can make it.

Here’s my costume. I also posted pictures of me and matryoshka Bro and Cal on the tumblr for Matryoshkastuck

Speak your mind (or let the compliments flow. up2u ;3)

matryoshkaRose~ (the former lillymelody)
cosplay, street fashion, reviews and more!
When in doubt, come into the rose garden ( ・ω・)ノ

2015 Convention Schedule
AWA!!!

2016
Who the heck knows.
Metrocon
Dragon Con

Ways to contact me

Here!
I got locked out of my lineplay u_______u
livejournal (matryoshkalilly)
Tumblr (matryoshkaRose OR newleafshibuya)

Hair growth progress- As of June 2015- I regularly trim my own bangs and they look amazing- choppy and short. The split ends have ruined lives and murdered small children. I haven't had a proper salon cut since July 2013. I might get a trim of 4ish inches by the end of the summer? I'm lazy.

Groups

Archives

Yo! Get on the email list for notifications 'n stuff.

