lilly in the rose garden

New Beginnings…?

Posted on: October 21, 2012

On August 10, 2011, I published a post about my goals for the future. Back then, I was dissatisfied with my current life. I wanted to make a change. With a new school year on the horizon, I laid out specific plans for how I was going to survive given the *ahem* sad situation I was in.

Now, I’m going to review those very goals I set. Today, on October 21, 2012, have I met my expectations?

-Sew at least one JSK

-Make a pair of bloomers (and not just some plain one. I want lace and bows and everything!)

Well, I haven’t completed either of these projects, and it doesn’t look like I ever will. I just don’t have enough time. I no longer want bloomers though, now that I know better how it feels to wear lolita in this oppressive heat. I do not need any more layers.

-Master the art of applying makeup (I still have a horrible time trying to apply eyeliner, after three years of having it XD)

I have most definitely completed this one. Back then I only used some liquid concealer, and a three-step powder foundation system. I hardly used mascara, and was hopeless with an eyeliner stick. Now, I’ve mastered liquid foundation, stick concealer, sealing powder, lipstick, eyelash curlers, and more. Yes!! Score one Lilly.

-Learn to style my hair more (it hangs half-way down to my waist, and all I do with it is pull it into ponytails! ugh)

Well, I’ve learned how to successfully give myself ringlets via the rag curling method, but I haven’t tried much else beyond that. There was a time when I was dealing with pink tips and clip-in extensions, but I generally just air-dry and brush it these days. At least I’ve gotten past my daily ponytail stage.

-Reach out more! (I need friends — Lolita and otherwise — and the only way to fix that is to get out there and be more social)

I have made Homestuck and lolita friends. I’ve created a Facebook account in order to join groups, and I regularly reach out. Buuuut I’ve also expanded my horizons in everyday life, and found a secure group of friends my own age. I hang out with them for an hour each day afterschool. Woot! Definitely a major change there.

I don’t feel the need to set any new goals for this year and beyond because I’m pretty proud of how far I’ve come. Blogging has gone from a crutch to a casual hobby. I’m happier, healthier, and in a good position. I hope I can continue on like this for a while. :)

Speak your mind (or let the compliments flow. up2u ;3)

matryoshkaRose~ (the former lillymelody)
cosplay, street fashion, reviews and more!
When in doubt, come into the rose garden ( ・ω・)ノ

2015 Convention Schedule
AWA!!!

2016
Who the heck knows.
Metrocon
Dragon Con

Ways to contact me

Here!
I got locked out of my lineplay u_______u
livejournal (matryoshkalilly)
Tumblr (matryoshkaRose OR newleafshibuya)

Hair growth progress- As of June 2015- I regularly trim my own bangs and they look amazing- choppy and short. The split ends have ruined lives and murdered small children. I haven't had a proper salon cut since July 2013. I might get a trim of 4ish inches by the end of the summer? I'm lazy.

Groups

Archives

Yo! Get on the email list for notifications 'n stuff.

