lilly in the rose garden

Con report- Shadocon 2012

Posted on: November 18, 2012

(I try to remain neutral in my discussion of each convention, but this time I am making more personal comments, mostly because a large portion of my circle of friends attended for once)

Can I just start off by praising whomever decided to switch venues this year? I’m so proud of cute little baby Shadocon, making its way into the big leagues. The old hotel in Brandon was much too small, although I hear it has been renovated since. (I’ll say more about that when I hit Khaotic Kon this spring) Even at the fancy downtown hotel, I think that in a year or two it may move into the convention center for a new home. Attendance just seems to be going up!

Saturday was more crowded than I anticipated. For the most part, I hung out on a balcony near the escalators and people-watched. I went with four friends and we were constantly getting split up, so that became our meeting place. At first I was disoriented, as I was not used to this hotel. There was a narrow hallway branching off into the two panel rooms, and then the artist alley and a door to the vendors room. The vendors room was bigger than last year, but still pressed for space. The walkways were quite narrow, so I was glad to see that the room was near empty Sunday morning so that I could take more photos.

Popular costumes included Homestuck trolls, a huge revival of Hetalia (in part due to multiple Hetalia rp panels), comic book heroes, and Doctor Who characters. There was one Wreck it Ralph group, and quite a few Slendermen. I saw maybe five lolitas in two days? Somehow, there was a Nezumi and a Shion as well! My favorite was one Spiller cosplayer.

On Saturday, two of my friends were participating in a Doctor Who Q&A panel, and on Sunday I hosted a panel giving a brief intro to Japanese street fashion. Both ran smoothly and I took lots of photos. My panel went so well, in fact, that I am already planning out hosting another panel at Metrocon. My friends attended, and one of them really helped me out, asking all the right questions to keep the discussion flowing.

 

2 Responses to "Con report- Shadocon 2012"

Just in case you wanted them, here’s some scaled down pics so they’re easy to upload that I liked:



Anyway, you looked absolutely gorgeous. I was that guy who asked the Kyary question – Nice job with the panel.

Thank you so much for the nice comments! I had a blast running that panel and I’m glad to see that other people enjoyed it too. Thanks for the photos :D

Speak your mind (or let the compliments flow. up2u ;3)

matryoshkaRose~ (the former lillymelody)
cosplay, street fashion, reviews and more!
When in doubt, come into the rose garden ( ・ω・)ノ

2015 Convention Schedule
AWA!!!

2016
Who the heck knows.
Metrocon
Dragon Con

Ways to contact me

Here!
I got locked out of my lineplay u_______u
livejournal (matryoshkalilly)
Tumblr (matryoshkaRose OR newleafshibuya)

Hair growth progress- As of June 2015- I regularly trim my own bangs and they look amazing- choppy and short. The split ends have ruined lives and murdered small children. I haven't had a proper salon cut since July 2013. I might get a trim of 4ish inches by the end of the summer? I'm lazy.

Groups

Archives

Yo! Get on the email list for notifications 'n stuff.

