lilly in the rose garden

Bodyline review- some good, some bad

Posted on: June 3, 2013

Ok, to start out, I’d like to say that at least two of the failed order attempts were my fault because of a minor miscommunication with paypal, which has since been resolved.

5/10/13- I ordered a navy summer style seifuku and a new Lolita skirt……payment went through according to paypal, but over a week later, I still hadn’t gotten an email confirm from Bodyline itself. I checked and it wasn’t in trash or spam. I just didn’t get one. (Had never happened to me before)

Luckily, with the website redesign, Bodyline made it easy to find the tracking page, so I went to that, put in my email, and was able to get my tracking number.

Well, it calmed me down quite a bit to see that my order had been “Dispatch[ed] from outward office of exchange” on May 16th….

I chose to go with air mail for shipping.

6/3/13- I received my order

Communication- 2/5 If not for that tracking section of their website, I never would have gotten any information regarding my order. What happened to confirm emails?

Packaging- 5/5 Sturdy bags as usual, nothing new here

IMG_1582 IMG_1583

Now on to the items themselves!!

Lolita skirt-  L353

I really wanted it in grey, but they had only black in stock in my size. Looking back, that was silly. The black colorway looks great. The front has a nice lacing section, which I’m going to tie a bit tighter to offset a little looseness in the waistband. There is a well-hidden zipper to the side and two ruffles at the bottom.  The skirt fits comfortably slightly above my waist. For construction I give it a 5/5

IMG_1586

IMG_1594 Close up of the zipper area

Now here comes the BAD part….the seifuku. I ordered Costume 410 in navy in size small. The stock image looks like this (left):

costume410-2[1]

The packaging was nice

IMG_1584

I am the same height, but have larger waist and bust but smaller hips than the model. (Hella petite by many American stores’ sizing) I struggled to fit in this costume!! The top was way too short, and even rode up showing most of my bra when I moved my arms. The skirt was too tight on the waist- luckily a quick sewing fix- and way too short. (Does not pass the bend over test- barely passes the stand up test!!) I knew that it would be short, but the measurements on Bodyline’s website did not give me an accurate picture of how it would fit.

I know that for $28 I shouldn’t get too upset. You get what you pay for, but still….I will wear a cami under the shirt, but the skirt is too small to fit shorts underneath….I own another longer skirt that matches in color, luckily.

Otherwise, it seems to be constructed well enough. No loose threads or badly done seams. The pleats on the skirt were sewn together for transport, which shows that they did take care in packaging the skirt. A minute with the seam ripper and it was ready to wear. Color matches the reference photo for navy quite well.

MY ADVICE if you want a seifuku, order costume 323 or 324, they seem to have much longer skirts. Especially if you have a long torso (the shirt seems longer) or are a taller person (aka Western)

Now, for a picture spam. Shown: zipper of skirt, zipper and snaps of shirt, bow, and detail of the back of the shirt.

IMG_1596 IMG_1598 IMG_1599 IMG_1603

11 Responses to "Bodyline review- some good, some bad"

For the seifuku, if I’m 5’8″ and a 2 in US sizes, would a 2L fit me? I’m worried about the top being too short (and the sleeves if I get a long-sleeved one).

Part of my issue was I am rather top heavy, thus it was too short. (I’m 5’3″ and a 6? I think) It really depends on bust measurement and how long your torso is, but I would honestly rec going up a size from the size that most closely matches your measurements. The zipper zips up nicely and the top’s cut is roomy but the length is very short. (I like to avoid possible underboob, but if you tend to wear undershirts, or a little stomach doesn’t bother you, I guess it’s down to personal preference.)

The short-sleeves hit me about at my elbow, but I can’t vouch for the long sleeves. The cuff might accentuate any shortness. If the sleeve is too long, you could roll it up and tuck excess under the cuff with some pins or wear it long and floppy-cutesy style.

Thanks for replying! I think I’m going to get the 2L. Hopefully it will be long enough, and if it’s too large horizontally, I’ll take it in. Thank you for helping me out. c:

:33

I hope it fits well and you enjoy your cute seifuku

Oh gosh. I bought this seifuku for a costume last year and .. far out. The short skirt I could handle, but the short top?! As a last minute cosplay, thank god I had a white blazer I could wear over the top. It was barely long enough with my arms at my sides let alone if I lifted my hands over my head!

I just got my seifuku today ( in the same colour- in a medium) and its awfully small on me as well! the weirdest thing is the white hemming at the bottom at the skirt- it makes it so tight around the legs and not much like the usually school skirt…I’m wondering if I took it off- would it fix the issue?

That is actually intentional. It is in place to keep the pleats looking nice in transit. It actually indicates some thought and planning on their part. Some time with a seam ripper or some small scissors will take care of it

You ordered on 5/10 and it arrived on 5/3? lolwat.

Oh Poop.
Thank you for pointing out that typo, I mean 6/3
Haha I typed this all out on ipad, didn’t type as well as usual

I have that seifuku in a larger size, and the larger sizes run weird, also. The size of the skirt didn’t seem to match the size of the top. The top is really loose, like it’s a size bigger than the skirt or something.
I didn’t have a problem with the skirt being too short, but I’m only 5 feet tall.

I’m only 5 foot 3, so I assumed that if it looked long enough on the model, it should be fine….I’m glad I’m not the only one that has experienced difficulties!

Speak your mind (or let the compliments flow. up2u ;3)

matryoshkaRose~ (the former lillymelody)
cosplay, street fashion, reviews and more!
When in doubt, come into the rose garden ( ・ω・)ノ

2015 Convention Schedule
AWA!!!

2016
Who the heck knows.
Metrocon
Dragon Con

Ways to contact me

Here!
I got locked out of my lineplay u_______u
livejournal (matryoshkalilly)
Tumblr (matryoshkaRose OR newleafshibuya)

Hair growth progress- As of June 2015- I regularly trim my own bangs and they look amazing- choppy and short. The split ends have ruined lives and murdered small children. I haven't had a proper salon cut since July 2013. I might get a trim of 4ish inches by the end of the summer? I'm lazy.

Groups

Archives

Yo! Get on the email list for notifications 'n stuff.

