lilly in the rose garden

Things they don’t tell you about lolita

Posted on: October 20, 2013

-Blogging is power. A lot of what we do, on tumblr and egl and wordpress, is all for show. The rush I get anytime a post of mine breaks 100 views is incredible. I try to be objective and stick to the truth but gosh when you know you have an audience, the lengths you’ll go to maintain that attention. So, take what you read online with a grain of salt. People love to post inflammatory opinions, pick fights, and bully others. Just because a post on EGL flames your dream dress doesn’t mean you aren’t allowed to like it anymore. If somebody insults your ootd post or laughs at your review, ignore them. They just want their own temporary spotlight.

On the flip side, blogging can be a great way to get connected, find style tips and sales posts, and teach yourself new skills. The power rush it brings, if used for good and not harm, can be mega beneficial.

-Makeup is NOT required. I will be the first to say makeup can make or break a coord. Good makeup skills are important. A little foundation, eyeshadow, eye liner, blush, and mascara sets the tone for an outfit. BUT Lolita is about individual growth and enjoyment. You don’t need to force it if you don’t feel comfortable applying and/or wearing makeup. On the flip side, if you attempt but fail to get the look you were going for, don’t stress out.

For shadocon, I planned on a lavender and plum smoky eye look I had tested out during a himegyaru kind of day. But I overdid it with the plum, overshadowed the lavender highlights, and my black liner smudged. Cleaning it off and starting over was not an option for me. It looked sloppy compared to my usual, and on the day of my panel too!! In addition to my poor hairstyling skills, I was pretty annoyed. In the end, it didn’t matter since the heat melted everything anyway and nobody could tell the difference from the rows of seats in the panel room. Makeup is art. Makeup is fun. Makeup should never be stressful, and if it is, please cut yourself some slack.

It doesn’t matter if your petticoat occasionally shows. Obvs I don’t wear you should make a habit of having a petti too long for your garments, but there’s no petticoat police that will call you out and consider you lesser. Petticoats are annoying. The poke out when you sit, especially in tiny classroom desks, and move around during the day. People walking below on the stairs will see your petti. If you stand up after sitting and need to adjust your skirt, it will show. If your dream dress is a few inches too short on you, it will show. But that’s fine. Enjoy your outfit and don’t feel the need to compulsively check your petti situation too often. Nobody else knows how your Lolita outfit is supposed to look- laugh if off and pretend the revealed petti is a purposeful style choice!

 

Speak your mind (or let the compliments flow. up2u ;3)

matryoshkaRose~ (the former lillymelody)
cosplay, street fashion, reviews and more!
When in doubt, come into the rose garden ( ・ω・)ノ

2015 Convention Schedule
AWA!!!

2016
Who the heck knows.
Metrocon
Dragon Con

Ways to contact me

Here!
I got locked out of my lineplay u_______u
livejournal (matryoshkalilly)
Tumblr (matryoshkaRose OR newleafshibuya)

Hair growth progress- As of June 2015- I regularly trim my own bangs and they look amazing- choppy and short. The split ends have ruined lives and murdered small children. I haven't had a proper salon cut since July 2013. I might get a trim of 4ish inches by the end of the summer? I'm lazy.

Groups

Archives

Yo! Get on the email list for notifications 'n stuff.

