lilly in the rose garden

Black Lipstick comparisons- NYX

Posted on: December 2, 2014

I love NYX. Cheap price, but nice creamy quality lipsticks. I still prefer Wet n Wild, but NYX (Which is the same price point as Ulta brand) releases wacky colors no other brand sells.

First, their Macaron collection. Last spring they released a collection of matte pastels (I bought colors Pistachio, Blue Velvet, and Coconut. Now, they have released a line called “Wicked Lippies” which is dedicated to sparkly metallic jewel tones, focusing much attention on the deep blue to purple range (The Macaron line was more of a rainbow, but Wicked offers copper and gold)

These lipsticks are super creamy, to the point that they crease easily on lips and can smudge on the edges (But what eye pencil would color match well enough to make a lip liner?) It’s pretty entertaining when I remove my blue lipstick and the residue looks like I’ve just consumed a messy ice cream cone. Needless to say, they are nourishing.

Pros:

Nourishing, creamy, bright, does not dry out lips, highly pigmented and bright. Only $6

Cons:

Smudges, messy, creases, not always easy to find in stores??? (They sold out quite a bit near me. And only Ulta stocked them. But they are available online)

Both lines contain a black lipstick. Being that I already own like 8 tubes of black, I felt the urge to investigate

nyx black lipstick

Chambord is Macaron, Cold Hearted is Wicked.

The stock image does not show this, but in person I noticed that Chambord actually has little glitter flecks among the black. I do not know it that is just a spray on the top layer or if the glitter is dispersed throughout the entire tube. Since it comes from the matte line, I’d hope that the glitter wouldn’t ruin that clean finish. (They really are matte irl just so you know. It’s intense)

Cold hearted, which I have yet to see irl, seems like a lighter shade of black because of the metallic finish. I wouldn’t jump to conclusions and assume it to be more of a dark grey, however, because the grey (Black Sesame- described as a light grey) is shown as nearly white in the stock images but is truly a light to mid level grey in real life. (Much darker!)

And, as a side note: I would rec the Macaron black for Homestuck cosplay. Risqué (Wicked) could work for Kanaya unless it’s as teal as one user submitted photo shows it as. Any blue or purple blood would also be covered by the Wicked line. I wouldn’t rec the Macaron line. Blue Velvet was too bright to be Vriska.

Speak your mind (or let the compliments flow. up2u ;3)

matryoshkaRose~ (the former lillymelody)
cosplay, street fashion, reviews and more!
When in doubt, come into the rose garden ( ・ω・)ノ

2015 Convention Schedule
AWA!!!

2016
Who the heck knows.
Metrocon
Dragon Con

Ways to contact me

Here!
I got locked out of my lineplay u_______u
livejournal (matryoshkalilly)
Tumblr (matryoshkaRose OR newleafshibuya)

Hair growth progress- As of June 2015- I regularly trim my own bangs and they look amazing- choppy and short. The split ends have ruined lives and murdered small children. I haven't had a proper salon cut since July 2013. I might get a trim of 4ish inches by the end of the summer? I'm lazy.

Groups

Archives

Yo! Get on the email list for notifications 'n stuff.

